• (2012-13) LSO Szymanowski series


To mark the 130th anniversary of Szymanowski’s birth and the 75th anniversary of his death, the London SO has included five programmes of his music alongside the music of Brahms during its 2012-13 season.  Their four respective symphonies have been paired in the same concerts, Szymanowski’s two violin concertos included, with his Stabat Mater and Brahms’s A German Requiem placed side by side in the final programme.  All four Szymanowski symphonies and the two violin concertos had already been performed during the 2012 Edinburgh Festival and the four symphonies have been scheduled in LSO tours to three cities on the continent in October and December 2012.

I prepared the following material for the Szymanowski side of these concerts.

Publicity essay
Programme essay

Symphony no.1 (London, Paris, Luxembourg)
Symphony no.2 (London, Paris, Luxembourg, Frankfurt)
Symphony no.3 (London, Paris, Luxembourg)
Symphony no.4 ‘Symphonie Concertante’ (London, Paris, Luxembourg)
Violin Concerto no.1
Violin Concerto no.2
Stabat Mater

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: